Announcing the 2020 CEEMAN Champions
News source:
Launched in 2010, the annual CEEMAN Champions Awards recognize and promote outstanding achievements of faculty, management, and staff from CEEMAN member institutions in the categories of teaching, research, institutional management, and responsible management education.

It was not easy for the jury to select the winners among the 15 nominations from 13 institutions in 11 countries (Germany, Brazil, Kazakhstan, Latvia, New Zealand, Oman, Peru, Poland, Russia, Switzerland, and Ukraine) that were received this year. All the candidates were nominated because of their significant individual achievements and important contribution to their respective institutions and field of work. When deciding on the winners, the jury took into consideration a number of criteria, including quality of the content and nomination presentation; breadth of the achievement; relevance to and impact on practice; standing in international circles as well as locally; contribution to the development of CEEMAN and potential transferability of the achievement to broader CEEMAN community.

The following nominations were selected as winners this year:

Teacher of the Year: Inese Sluka, RISEBA University of Applied Sciences, Latvia

Inese is a project management lecturer at RISEBA University of Applied Sciences. She includes in her study courses simulation games created by other authors and designs her own games and game elements to make the study process more valuable and exciting. She uses interactive study elements in full-time and distance studies for bachelor's and master's students. Inese is convinced that knowledge is best strengthened through practical tasks. RISEBA students have nominated her as their favourite lecturer several times.

Researcher of the Year: Faris Alshubiri, Dhofar University, College of Commerce and Business Administration, Oman

Faris Nasif Alshubiri, Ph.D is associate Professor of Finance and a chairperson of finance and economics from September 2017 at College of Commerce and Business Administration of Dhofar University. He has worked as a principle researcher in most of his paper’s publication. His principle areas of teaching are corporate finance, behaviour finance, international finance, investment portfolio, financial sustainability, financial economics, and financial risk management. He lectures at several undergraduate, postgraduate courses. Dr. Faris has presented and published more than 50 professional papers, most of them included in Scopus and Web of Science, and more than 20 publications in scientific conferences.

Responsible Management Educator of the Year: Norman de Paula Arruda Filho, ISAE Brazilian Business School, Brazil

Norman de Paula Arruda Filho is a PhD in Applied Commercial Management from the Higher Institute of Labour and Business Sciences, ISCTE, Portugal (2012). He is President of the Instituto Superior de Administration and Economics - ISAE, affiliated with the Getulio Vargas Foundation. A member of the Brazilian Committee of the United Nations Global Compact, he is an enthusiastic person in charge of executive education in Brazil. He was part of the group that created the United Nations Principles for Responsible Executive Education (PRME), guidelines that guide the management of more than 800 business schools worldwide. He is currently on the PRME Global Council. Norman is also an advisor to several national and international institutions and a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences of the Administration.

Business School Leader of the Year: Andrzej Popadiuk, Gdansk Foundation for Management Development, Poland

Andrzej Popadiuk is the President of Gdansk Foundation for Management Development (GFKM) – an executive business school, based in Gdansk, Poland. With his 30 years of experience in ExecEd he actively promotes quality and ethical standards in management and in management education. As a MD and OD trainer, consultant and coach he supports executives in developing their leadership and managerial potential. He has worked with a range of leaders and organizations in Poland and internationally within development programs, consulting projects and coaching processes.

"I welcome the decision of the 2020 CEEMAN Champion Awards Jury with sincere pride and gratitude. CEEMAN is the community of exceptional business schools as well as dear colleagues and friends, with unique intellectual vibe and energy. I feel very proud GFKM is the member of the CEEMAN network and believe together we may take Management Education to the next level and thus make the world a better place. I receive the CEEMAN Business School Leader 2020 Award as the recognition for the whole GFKM Team, its Faculty and Associates. GFKM is enjoying its 30th anniversary this year. I wish to dedicate this Award to the invaluable heritage of its founding President Prof. Wojciech Rybowski", says Andrzej Popadiuk. 

Read more about CEEMAN Champions 2020 here.

The award ceremony will take place online on 24 September at the 28th CEEMAN Annual Conference.

More about the CEEMAN Champion Awards and past winners at

Share this on